Page: 1

OPSEU LOCAL 228

Meeting of the General Membership South Fletchers Sports Plex, Craft Room Wednesday, February 9, 2005 17:15 - 19:30 hours

Co-Chair: Julie Weber (President Local 228, Region 2) Co-Chair/Run Elections: Barry Roy (Chief Steward Local 229) Guest: Mark Barclay (Grievance Officer, OPSEU)

MINUTES

Combined Membership Attendance: 27

Having a necessary quorum, with pizza and refreshments served, the meeting was called to order by Julie Weber at 17:15 hours.

Much had to be accomplished by the adjournment of the meeting.

Motion: Claudette Skeene Seconded: Julie Weber

"Minutes of the General Membership Meeting Dated Thursday, November 25, 2004, are approved/adopted".

Carried

Election of Stewards, Executive Officers, Local Committees

The Following Members Were Elected As Stewards:

Janet Hamilton 484932

Pauline Durrant 127270

Shamin Jhooty 551282

Barry Beaver 24209

Marlene Companion 230927

Claudette Skeene 296078

Meredith Johnson 407911

Sherry McHady 470326

Paula Liu 397847

Linda Fudge 324240

Kin Lim 434186

Julie Weber 434073

Hanne Elson 512053

Miriam Lee 408128

Esther Kalverda 479386

Ravinder Dhir 353277

Sandra Cristiano 523863

Katherine Hill 520624

Natalie Maharaj 266781

Debbie-Ann Sinclair 290905

Harani Thuraisingham 426782

Francis Chapman (MOH & LTC) 495085

The Following Stewards were Elected to the Following Executive Offices:
PRESIDENT: Julie Weber
VICE-PRESIDENT: Claudette Skeene

Page: 2

TREASURER: Kin Lim SECRETARY: Hanne Elson

The Following Members Were Elected as Local Trustees:

Sheila Mohan 78671 Maria Rodrigues 206871

The Following Members Were Elected To Sit On The Local Employee Relations Committee (LERC):

Meredith Johnson Natalie Maharaj Shamin Jhooty

The Following Members Were Elected As Co-Chair For the Local Employee Relations Committee (LERC):

Meredith Johnson Co-Chair Shamin Jhooty Vice Co-Chair

The Following Members Were Elected As Alternates For The Local Employee Relations Committee (LERC):

Pauline Labelle 1st Alternate 138651 Hanne Elson 2nd Alternate

The Following Members Were Elected To Sit On The Occupational Health And Safety Committee (OH&SC):

Shamin Jhooty Meredith Johnson Marlene Companion Pauline Labelle Julie Weber Esther Kalverda Hanne Elson Miriam Lee Clara Azeez 177157

The Following Members Were Elected As Co-Chair For The Occupational Health And Safety Committee (OH&SC):

Shamin Jhooty Co-Chair Meredith Johnson Vice Co-Chair

ELECTIONS - PROVINCIAL CONVENTION CALL 2005

ELECTION OF DELEGATES TO PROVINCIAL CONVENTION, APRIL 14 - 16, 2005 [1 Delegate - automatic (President); 2 Delegate - elected; 3 Alternates - elected]

Standing Nominees:

Claudette Skeene
Shamin Jhooty
Meredith Johnson
Barry Beaver
Paula Liu
Linda Fudge
Hanne Elson
Miriam Lee
Marlene Companion
Kin Lim
Esther Kalverda

OPSEU Local 228, Region 2

Page: 3

Results:

Julie Weber 1st Delegate (Automatic) Claudette Skeene 2nd Delegate Meredith Johnson 3rd Delegate

ELECTION OF ALTERNATES TO PROVINCIAL CONVENTION, APRIL 14 - 16, 2005

Standing Nominees:

Barry Beaver
Kin Lim
Hanne Elson
Shamin Jhooty
Marlene Companion
Miriam Lee
Paula Liu
Linda Fudge

Results:

Shamin Jhooty 1st Alternate Hanne Elson 2nd Alternate Kin Lim 3rd Alternate

Motion: Sheila Mohan Seconded: Claudette Skeene "The local send three Observers." Carried

ELECTION OF OBSERVERS TO PROVINCIAL CONVENTION, APRIL 14-16, 2005 [3 Observers - Elected]

Standing Nominees:

Barry Beaver Marlene Companion Miriam Lee Paula Liu Linda Fudge

Results:

Linda Fudge 1st Observer Miriam Lee 2nd Observer Paula Liu 3rd Observer

ELECTIONS - REGIONAL ELECTION MEETINGS 2005

ELECTION OF DELEGATES TO REGIONAL ELECTION MEETINGS, MARCH 19, 2005[1 Delegate - automatic (President); 2 Delegate - elected; 3 Alternates - elected]

Standing Nominees:

Marlene Companion Sheila Mohan Claudette Skeene Barry Beaver Shamin Jhooty Esther Kalverda OPSEU Local 228, Region 2

Page: 4

Results:

Julie Weber 1st Delegate (automatic) Marlene Companion 2nd Delegate Sheila Mohan 3rd Delegate

ELECTION OF ALTERNATES TO REGIONAL ELECTION MEETINGS, MARCH 19, 2005

Standing Nominees:

Claudette Skeene Barry Beaver Shamin Jhooty Esther Kalverda

Results:

Claudette Skeene 1st Alternate Barry Beaver 2nd Alternate Shamin Jhooty 3rd Alternate

Motion: Sheila Mohan Seconded: Claudette Skeene "The local send one Observer." Carried

ELECTION OF OBSERVER TO REGIONAL ELECTION MEETINGS, MARCH 19, 2005 [1 Observer - Election]

Standing Nominees:

Esther Kalverda

Results:

Esther Kalverda 1st Observer

Motion: Julie Weber Seconded by: Meredith Johnson "All Ballots From This Meeting Be Destroyed."

Motion

Motion: Claudette Skeene
Seconded by: Julie Weber

"That the meeting be adjourned."

Carried

MINUTES prepared by: Julie Weber, PRESIDENT, OPSEU Local 228 (Grenville & William Davis Courthouse)

Approved for posting by Local President:

(Original Signed By Julie Weber)

JULIE WEBER, President, OPSEU Local 228